Minutes - 1/1/2007
Monday, January 01, 2007 3:15 PM


       District 10 Como Community Council 

           Board Meeting, 7:00 p.m., January 16, 2007 

        Streetcar Museum, 1224 N. Lexington Parkway 





1. Chair Sarah MacRunnels called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.  Board members in 

attendance were:  Jillian Ierien, Tony Schaps, Dennis O’Rourke, Nathan Volz, Bart 

Polasek, Jeremy Lostetter, Luke Kuhl, Sihoya Cotner, Kay Plese, Greg Hrncirik and 

Sharon Frisell.  Billy Dinkel, Nancy Sabin and Jennifer Flint were excused.  


2. A motion was made to amend the agenda to strike item 9, the motion was approved, and 

the amended agenda was approved. 


3. The November, 2006 financial report was approved.  The December report was tabled 

due to accounting firm’s omission of December, 2006 income of approximately $10,400.  


4. The staff report was read and discussed.   The crime statistics report was reviewed,  

SPPD surveillance of burglary problem is continuing in the southwest corner of the 



Community Section 


5. Mike Hahm, Como Campus Manager, did an overview of Campus operations,  their 2007 

budget and upcoming activities and goals.   In 2007 and beyond the campus will be 

working towards an enhanced gorilla and polar bear displays, hopefully construction will 

begin by 2010- 2012, respectively. The campus will also be working with Eureka and 

Public Works to initiate a recycling program.   Mr. Hahm also discussed a 2-3 year 

extension of Lancer’s lease as a way for Lancer to recoup for over- budget expenditures 

for Como Town.  The Parks Department is also working to implement a visitor shuttle 

system and upgrades to the Bonsai Garden.  Mike also talked about a possible problem 

with the seal show.  At this time the show is on the cusp of compliance with USDA 



Jackie Sticha, Director of the Como Zoo and Conservatory Society (CZ and S) did an 

overview of the Society.  The Society is a 501c3 non- profit, as such they have their own 

staff and board members.   The Society partners with Parks on campus projects and short/ 

long term planning. The Society also funds several programs, events and conservatory 

staff.  They make small grants for items such as animal scales, banners and fund parts of 

much larger projects.   



Board Section 


6. The 2007- 2008 CIB task force process was discussed.   Brian Tucker, a member of  

the Land Use Committee will represent District 10 on the Residential and Economic 

Development committee.  Tom Olesak, an architect and  Como resident,  has volunteered 

to serve on the Community Facilities committee, Greg Hrncirik will serve as his 

alternate.  There are no representatives to the Streets and Utilities committee. 


7. Resolution EI0116071, recommending approval for the Events and Institutions 

committee comments on Como Parking Task Force recommendations, was passed.  A 

letter of support for this resolution will be sent to Bob Bierscheid, Mike Hahm and the St. 

Paul Parks Commission.   


8. Brief committee reports were made. 


9. The meeting was adjourned at 9:05 p.m. 



District 10 Como Community Council | 1224 Lexington Pkwy N, Saint Paul, MN 55103 | 651.644.3889 | district10 [at] district10comopark.org

Site donated by: Havens Design, Matt Schmitt Photography
and UrbanPlanet Software LLC