Our Honor Roll Expands
Friday, December 23, 2016 8:40 AM

Past and current garden stewards include (from left) Kathy Kulstad, Sandra Peterson, Maren Swenson, Bonnie Youngquist, and Susan Janda.
Paul Seeba

Paul Seeba, Debra Pursley, and the neighbors who voluntarily steward the Churchill Garden have been chosen as District 10’s additions to the Saint Paul Neighborhood Honor Roll for 2016. The annual award is given to residents or organizations who make a sustained and lasting impact to improve the quality of life in their neighborhood and the city at large.

The Como Community Council Board selected this year’s winners out of 10 nominees submitted to District 10 by community members. They will be honored at a citywide celebration Jan. 27 at the University of St. Thomas.

  • Seeba is being honored for his single-handed effort to raise $3,000 to purchase and install 11 banners in the parking lot at Como Park Senior High School. The banners convert what the nomination calls “a drab and rather uninviting” space into a site that greets students every day and reflects “the enthusiasm for learning” going on inside the school.
  • Pursley is being honored for her years of service on the community council – both her consistent push to
    Debra Pursley
    make sure residents’ points of view are considered before decisions are made, and her hands-on approach to getting things done behind the scenes. Her most visible role: Coordinating volunteers at the annual neighborhood cleanup, and handling senior citizen pick-ups for that event.
  • The Churchill Garden volunteers planted and maintained a perennial garden for more than 15 years at the intersection of Churchill, Van Slyke and Horton. When street reconstruction destroyed the garden, the neighbors expanded their vision. For months, they worked with Saint Paul Public Works and other city departments, the Capitol Region Watershed District, Ramsey County Conservation, District 10 and others to gain approval and funding for an even larger native garden. This new garden works hand in hand with a stormwater filtration system on the site to protect water quality in Como Lake; provide a eye-pleasing gateway to the neighborhood for motorists, bus riders, cyclists and pedestrians; and provide a sanctuary for pollinators and other wildlife. The garden stewards capped it off by recruiting more than 50 volunteers to install more than 1,400
    Churchill Garden volunteers planted more than 1,400 plants in one day in October.
    plants in one day this October. Current stewards include Erin Dooley, Gita Gheil, Mike Hass, Susan Janda, Aaron and Sandra Peterson, Maren Swenson, and Bonnie Youngquist. Others provide financial support, and another rotating cast of volunteers have long come and gone, though their legacy remains.

Previous Honor Roll winners from District 10
Elaine Allen, David Arbeit, Jeanne Baumann, Roger Bergerson, Ted Blank, Pete Bolstad, Janna Caywood, Susan Jane Cheney, Sehoya Cotner, Valerie Cunningham, Marylyn Deneen, Frank Dolejsi, Cate Smith Edlund, Ronald J. Edlund, Sharon Frisell

Also, Chris Harkness, Theresa “Teri” Heyer, Hubert H. Humphrey Job Corps Center, Panoud Klongtruatroke, Jon Knox, Jerry Krieger, Dan Krivit, Luke Kuhl, Josh Leonard, Jillian Lerien, William Lipkin, Mike MacDonald, Anne McInerney, Chris Martineau

Also, Marcy Micek, Chet Mirocha, Dennis O’Rourke, Janice Rettman, Deb Robinson, Tony Schaps, Matt Schmidt, Sharon Shinomiya, Roberta Sladky, Brian Tucker, Nathan Volz, Jerome Wagner, Sally Worku

District 10 Como Community Council | 1224 Lexington Pkwy N, Saint Paul, MN 55103 | 651.644.3889 | district10 [at] district10comopark.org

Site donated by: Havens Design, Matt Schmitt Photography
and UrbanPlanet Software LLC